Award winners DCSRP 2017 and BCMT 2017 (ICT.OPEN 2017)

March 21, 2017

Part of ICT.OPEN 2017 conference was the session ‘Peaks in Dutch Cyber Security Research’ organised by dcypher. 
The objective of this session was to demonstrate the progress and achievements in the execution of recent Dutch cybersecurity research. Two initiatives were awarded this year, the Dutch Cyber Security Research Paper (DCSRP) and the Best Cyber Security Master Thesis (BCMT).


In this session three recent cybersecurity research papers were presented. An international Jury, with  Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser (Germany), Dr. Lorenzo Cavallaro (UK) and Dr. Nele Mentens (Belgium), under technical chairmanship of Drs. Jan Piet Barthel (dcypher/NWO) selected these papers, out of twelve papers submitted. And the winner of the DCSRP2017 is Drammer: Deterministic Rowhammer Attacks on Mobile Platforms by Victor van der Veen et al.

Victor van der Veen receives the DCSRP Award from Dr. Nele Mentens (KU, Leuven) 

The Jury considered Drammer as a very interesting paper, published at ACM CCS, one of the top 4 security conferences, a tier-1 venue with high impact. The paper has a large international team of authors, which further foster collaboration, with Victor van der Veen as the leading author, which shows the key role the Dutch team had in this research. The proposed mitigation in the paper requires hardware modification or replacement (in the worst case scenario, for the Rowhammer component). Results have thus a broad and long lasting impact. The interest in DRAMMER even extended beyond academia and open source, including the hacker community as well as government and industry. It received extensive traditional media coverage, in more than 20 countries, from magazines to television as well as high profile web media.

Victor van der Veen receives his IBM Bonus cheque from Erno Doorenspleet (IBM Europe)

BCMT Award

New in the cybersecurity session this year is the Best Cybersecurity Master Thesis (BCMT) Award. The BCMT Award aims to reward the best Dutch master theses that make a significant academic or practical contribution to the field of cybersecurity. A committee consisting of representatives of several Dutch Universities and companies led by Dr. Nicola Zannone selected two theses out of six theses submitted. These two highly ranked cyber security theses were presented by the master students themselves. Both presenters received a signed certificate, only one of them got the the BCMT2017 and that was Resilience of the Domain Name System: A case study for .nl by Lars Bade, RUN 

Lars Bade receives the BCMT Award from Dr. Nicola Zannone (TUe)

The research question is non trivial and has ramifications to security and network design/administration; obtained results are relevant from both scientific and industrial perspectives. The author validates the proposed method by considering 60 failure scenarios; the underlying design decisions are examined and justified in great detail. This thesis resulted from a collaboration with SIDN; this is yet another highlight of this outstanding master work.

More information about the DCSRP Award 2017 and BCMT Award 2017


ICT.OPEN is the principal ICT research conference in the Netherlands. It features two distinguished plenary key notes and invited speakers, as well as many oral and poster presentations. The state of art in ICT research is presented and discussed here. More information:

Fotographer: Sjoerd van der Hucht

View National Cybersecurity Edcuation Agenda