CfP NSPW 2017 (USA)

February 15, 2017

The 2017 New Security Paradigms Workshop (NSPW) October 2-4, Islamorada, FL, USA

Since 1992, the New Security Paradigms Workshop (NSPW) has offered a unique forum for information security research involving high-risk, high-opportunity paradigms, perspectives, and positions. The workshop itself is highly interactive with presentations by authors prepared for in-depth discussions, and ample opportunity to exchange views with open-minded peers. NSPW is also distinguished by its deep-rooted tradition of positive feedback, collegiality, and encouragement.  

NSPW seeks embryonic, disruptive, and unconventional ideas that benefit from early feedback. The ideas are almost always not yet proven, and sometimes infeasible to validate to the extent expected in traditional forums. NSPW seeks ideas pushing the boundaries of science and engineering beyond what would typically be considered mainstream; papers that would be strong candidates in "conventional" information security venues are, as a rule of thumb, a poor fit for NSPW. We welcome papers with perspectives that augment traditional information security, both from computer science and other disciplines that study adversarial relationships (e.g., biology, economics, the social sciences). Submissions typically address current limitations of information security, directly challenge long-held beliefs or the very foundations of security, or view problems from an entirely novel angle leading to new solutions. 

In 2016, more than 50% of the presenters had never attended NSPW before. We are actively trying to continue this trend, and therefore we encourage submissions from new NSPW authors.



Submissions: April 14, 2017

Author response period: May 26 - June 2, 2017

Acceptance notification: June 16, 2017



NSF has provided financial aid especially for U.S.-based students and junior faculty. We have a limited amount of financial aid available for others, as well. We encourage submissions from students, junior faculty, and others, even if support may be required to attend.



Please see the full CFP available on our website:


Submissions should be made through EasyChair:



The workshop itself is invitation-only, with typically 30--35 participants consisting of authors of about 10 accepted papers, panelists, program committee members, and organizers.  One author of each accepted paper must attend; additional authors may be invited if space permits. All participants must commit to a "social contract": no one arrives late, no one leaves early, no laptops, and all attend all sessions of the 2.5 day program, sharing meals in a group setting.  The workshop is preceded by an evening reception allowing attendees to meet each other beforehand.



Chair: Serge Egelman (, UC Berkeley / ICSI, U.S.

Co-Chair: Anil Somayaji (, Carleton University, Canada

Adam Aviv (U.S. Naval Academy, U.S.) Rainer Böhme (University of Innsbruck, Austria) Benjamin Edwards (IBM Research, U.S.) Joseph Lorenzo Hall (CDT, U.S.) Rachel Greenstadt (Drexel University, U.S.) Marian Harbach (Audi, Germany) Cormac Herley (Microsoft Research, U.S.) Heather Lipford (UNC-Charlotte, U.S.) Brandon Matthews (MIT Lincoln Laboratory, U.S.) Michelle Mazurek (University of Maryland, U.S.) Wolter Pieters (TU Delft, The Netherlands) Christian W. Probst (Technical University of Denmark) Jessica Staddon (NCSU, U.S.) Elizabeth Stobert (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) Julie Thorpe (UOIT, Canada) Tara Whalen (Google, U.S.)