CfP S-CI 2017

March 9, 2017

International Workshop on Securing Critical Infrastructures to be held in conjunction with the ARES EU Projects Symposium 2017, held at ARES 2017 August 29 - September 1, 2017, Reggio Calabria, Italy

Critical Infrastructures (Communication, Transportation, Banking, e-Commerce, Utilities etc) increasingly and inextricably depend on IT-technologies to provide for both functionality and efficiency. However, the cost of the IT-reliance is the consequent exposure of the Critical Infrastructure (CI) to IT-based security vulnerabilities. The state of the practice often has different CI's developing customized security solutions to meet their specific needs. While this is judicious, the CI's can benefit from sharing approaches to intrusion detection, threat classification, diagnostics, mitigation schema, security architectures and many others. The workshop aims to bring together viewpoints from diverse CI's to explore the commonalities of security problems and solutions for advancing the collective science and practice of CI security protection.

The workshop encourages both CI research and practitioner contributions covering design, assessment, testing and deployment experiences.

Topics of interest comprise but are not limited to:

  • Security requirements
  • Threat models for critical infrastructures and communication networks
  • Threat detection, classification and profiling
  • Incident management
  • Security architectures and frameworks for critical infrastructures
  • Risk assessment - co-mingling of safety and security
  • Security validation
  • Experience reports and best practices from different infrastructure domains
  • Data sharing


Important dates:

  • Submission Deadline: April 24, 2017
  • Author Notification: May 24, 2017
  • Proceedings Version: June 20, 2017
  • ARES EU Symposium: August 29, 2017
  • Conference: August 29 - September 1, 2017


Workshop Chair:

  • Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt, Germany Apostolos Fournaris, University of Patras, Greece


Program Committee:

  • Jorge Cuellar, Siemens, Germany
  • Daniel Germanus, DB Systel, Germany
  • Klaus Kursawe, The Netherlands
  • Kostas Lampropoulos, University of Patras
  • Greece Eva Marín, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Xavi Masip, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Michael Paulitsch, Thales, Austria
  • Andreas Peter, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Luigi Romano, University of Naples, Italy
  • Wilfried Steiner, TTTech, Austria
  • Neeraj Suri, TU Darmstadt, Germany