Cybersecurity Track ICT.OPEN2017 includes two Awards

November 21, 2016

In the last 20 years, the Dutch information security community grew from a handful of brilliant mathematicians to a large community of cybersecurity researchers with representatives from many of the technical and the social sciences. The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and the European Commission have provided over a hundred million Euros of funding in long term Dutch Cyber Security Research. This has led to dozens of new businesses, hundreds of highly skilled employees in all major corporations, government departments and universities, and thousands of scientific publications and patents.

21st of March 2017 Cybersecurity at ICT.OPEN

Cybersecurity is one of the main themes at the ICT.OPEN 2017 edition. This year, the Cybersecurity Track committee, chaired by Dr. Zeki Erkin from Delft University of Technology, will be preparing an interesting track with several key note speakers and two award announcements. Discussions and interactions during the track will be encouraged. In particular we welcome both the next generation of cybersecurity researchers as well as researchers in other (ICT) disciplines. On behalf of NWO, the Dutch Cybersecurity Platform for Higher Education and Research (dcypher), supports the Cybersecurity Track committee. 

Dutch Cyber Security best Research Paper (DCSRP) Award

Announcing the winner of the Dutch Cybersecurity best Research Paper award at ICT.OPEN is becoming a tradition. This contest will be organized for the third time! Again a jury of international scientists in the fields of cybersecurity will be formed and asked to judge submitted papers. Dutch cybersecurity research group leaders are asked to send in a maximum of two papers per research group before January 20, 2017 to dcypher. Out of all nominated papers the jury selects both the top three as well as the winning paper. In the first week of March dcypher will inform all five selected nominees. They are expected to present their paper in the March 21 ICT.OPEN Cybersecurity Track. All presenters receive a signed certificate. The winner receives the Dutch Cyber Security best Research Paper Award. For more information about winning papers announced in previous ICT.OPEN editions, refer to the dcypher website.

Best Cybersecurity Master Thesis (BCMT) Award

In addition to the Dutch Cyber Security Research best Paper Award, a new price will be introduced: the Best Cybersecurity Master Thesis (BCMT) Award, sponsored by 4TU.NIRICT. The winner will be announced during the Track.


ICT.OPEN is the principal ICT research conference in the Netherlands. It features two distinguished plenary key notes and invited speakers, as well as many oral and poster presentations. The state of art in ICT research is presented and discussed here. More information: