REMINDER Deadline CfP BCMT Award December 1st

4 november 2016

Call for Applications – Best Cybersecurity Master Thesis Award in the Netherlands (sponsored by 4TU.NIRICT)

The 4TU.NIRICT Cybersecurity theme aims to establish a Cybersecurity community in the Netherlands and promote community's work in the society. One of the main goals of the 4TU.NIRICT Cybersecurity is to form the next generation of researchers and engineers in the field of cybersecurity. To this end, the 4TU.NIRICT Cybersecurity theme has decided to establish an award for the best Master thesis in this field. The award rewards Master theses that make a significant academic or practical contribution to the field of cybersecurity.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Privacy enhancing technology
  • Network security
  • Security and privacy by design
  • Cryptographic schemes
  • Trust management
  • Risk management
  • Socio-technical issues of Cyber Security
  • Cybersecurity situation awareness

Applications for the 2015-2016 award are open to all Master students who defended their thesis during academic year 2015-2016 (graduation before September 1, 2016).

A Committee appointed by the 4TU.NIRICT Cybersecurity theme will evaluate the theses. The theses will be judged on the basis of scientific quality, originality, clarity of presentation, as well as potential impact of the results.

Applications for the Award should consist of:

  • A nomination letter from the thesis supervisor
    • Maximum of two pages;
    • Statement summarizing the reasons the thesis is worthy of the award;
    • The letter should include the author's name, thesis supervisor(s), thesis title, and institution granting the degree.
  • Master thesis (in PDF format)
  • A short summary of the thesis (mandatory in English)
  • Curriculum vitae (in PDF format) of the nominee

Applications should be sent by December 1, 2016 to the Evaluation Committee member at the own university (see below). Each Evaluation Committee member will nominate two theses, which will be considered for the award. 

The winner of the Award will be announced during ICT.OPEN, which will be held on March 21-22 at de Flint Amersfoort. The authors of the best three Master theses will have the opportunity to present their work at the conference. A cash supplement of 1000 euro accompanies the award. 

For further information about the award, contact Nicola Zannone (

Evaluation Committee

  • Zekeriya Erkin, Delft University of Technology
  • Wil Michiels, NXP
  • Jorge A. Perez, University of Groningen
  • Andreas Peter, University of Twente
  • Milan Petkovic, Philips Research
  • Thomas Quillinan, Thales Research & Technology
  • Erik Poll, Radboud University Nijmegen
  • Nicola Zannone, TU Eindhoven
  • (To be completed)